Network Advisory Committee

Network Advisory Committee

The Canadian Network of Nursing Specialties (the Network) currently consists of a committed group of nurses from 42 national nursing associations. Each of these national associations represents specific practice and interest areas within nursing. By joining these national associations, nurses enhance the breadth and depth of specialized nursing knowledge, as well as the connections and organizational linkages available to CNA and to the Network.

Since its inception in 1984, the Network has grown significantly, and new opportunities have arisen. As a result, it was recommended that the Network establish a Network Advisory Committee (NAC) as a standing committee to define and oversee all issues related to the Network.

It is recognized that good governance is essential for the Network to be successful. The collective insight and wisdom of dedicated Network members working together in the interests of furthering an organization’s mission is critical to realization of that mission. Good governance is always being refined, improved, and adjusted as needed to meet organizational needs and best practices.

The committee is composed of seven Network members and two CNA staff members. One of the Network members is selected to be the NAC chair. Current members are listed below:

Treena Klassen, RN, BN, ASMH, M.Ed.
NAC Chair
Canadian Family Practice Nurses Association

Marcia Carr, RN, BN, MS, GNC(C), NCA
Clinical Nurse Specialist Association of Canada

Lorelei Gibson, RN, BSN, MN, CPMHN(C)
Canadian Federation of Mental Health Nurses

Lora Sliman, Nursing Student
Canadian Nursing Students’ Association

Jeanne Weis, RN, LPN, MN, CHPCN(C)
Canadian Palliative Care Nursing Association

Michelle Pavloff, RN, BSN, MN
Canadian Association for Rural and Remote Nursing