Employer Certification Support Award

Employer Certification Support Award

Each year, CNA gives one health-care facility the Employer Recognition Award for exemplary, sustained support of the certification program and CNA-certified nurses. The award ensures employers — both the recipient and those who receive honourable mentions — receive public recognition for their efforts. The award includes acknowledgement in a media release, nursing conference materials and on CNA’s website and social media.

Congratulations to our 2021 recipient!

The Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital is not only committed to providing exceptional service to children and youth with developmental disabilities, but also to supporting their families. Holland Bloorview values the development of pediatric nursing expertise and works to enhance nursing professional development and career advancement by leveraging the nationally recognized CNA Certification Program. The hospital wholeheartedly supports CNA rehabilitation nursing certification and funds renewals for successful recipients. Holland Bloorview strongly values CNA certification and its contributions to awareness of best practices to care for children and families in the health-care system.

Honorable Mention

Eisan Occupational Health is an occupational health and disability management company that has been providing support to workplaces for the past 20 years. Eisan only employs registered nurses who are committed to health and safety and continuous learning to enhance their practice. Eisan’s president has been certified in occupational health nursing (COHN(C)) for over 20 years. Eisan has been an avid supporter of CNA certification and recognizes it as a preferred requirement on employment applications. Nurses, if not certified, are supported financially and professionally to pursue certification. Eisan promotes CNA certification as the unique way they stand out from their competitors, and their clients specifically ask for COHC(C)-certified nurses.

Congratulations to our 2020 recipient!

The Wound Ostomy and Continence Institute, which is operated by Nurses Specialized in Wound, Ostomy and Continence Canada (NSWOCC), offers various online programs to allow nurses to improve their skills and understanding of wound, ostomy and continence from a distance. The WOC-Institute’s online and onsite educational programs are delivered by a team of highly knowledgeable and dedicated nurse leaders who are CNA certified in wound, ostomy and continence. In 2018, the WOC-Institute launched a CNA certification preparatory course for all NSWOCC members. The course is self-paced online with a Facebook study group and mentorship from certified nurses. The WOC-Institute’s flagship program, Wound Ostomy and Continence Education Program, is a state of the art, 12-month program for BN/BScNs. The final exam for the program is the CNA certification exam, which, upon achievement, enables the nurse to use the certification credential WOCC(C).

Honourable mention

The Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) is Canada’s largest mental health teaching hospital and one of the world’s leading research centres in its field. It has a long history of endorsing CNA certification. Since 2013, CAMH has offered a two-day CNA Psychiatric and Mental Health certification exam review workshop. It is one of the only hospitals in the country to offer a review workshop in this specialty area. Recently, the organization announced that as part of the Best of CAMH Nursing Initiative, CAMH will pay all costs associated with certification for its employees, including CNA membership for the year of certification, examination fees, and five-year certification renewal fees. During national nursing week, certified nurses on staff are presented with a certification sticker to wear proudly on their ID badges.

Past Winners

  • 2019 GF Strong
  • 2018 Toronto Public Health
  • 2017 Ontario Shores Centre for Mental Health Sciences
  • 2015 Pierre-Le Gardeur Hospital
  • 2014 Leisureworld Senior Care Corporation
  • 2013 Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
  • 2012 Hill House Hospice
  • 2011 Centre for Addiction and Mental Health
  • 2010 Jewish General Hospital
  • 2009 Jewish Eldercare Centre
  • 2008 Bloorview Kids Rehab
  • 2006/2007 Saint Elizabeth Health Care
  • 2005 St. Michael’s Hospital
  • 2004 The Scarborough Hospital
  • 2003 McGill University Health Centre
  • 2002 Baycrest Centre for Geriatric Care
  • 2001 Halton Healthcare Services
  • 2000 Network North, The Community Mental Health Group
  • 1999 Mount Sinai Hospital