Écrivez pour nous

La revue en ligne infirmière canadienne vous invite à proposer des textes informatifs et inspirants pour les infirmières et infirmiers. Nous publions des articles portant sur des réussites et les meilleures pratiques au travail, ainsi que des analyses approfondies, des articles d’opinion, des profils, des résumés de recherches de même que des conseils et des points de vue d’experts. Nous acceptons les manuscrits qui traitent de l’un des cinq domaines des soins infirmiers : la pratique clinique, l’enseignement, la recherche, l’administration et l’élaboration de politiques.

Style

Le site visant un vaste lectorat, les textes qui conviennent le mieux présentent un point de vue original. Généralement, votre texte devrait avoir pour but d’informer, d’inspirer et d’appuyer les infirmières et infirmiers dans leur pratique, en particulier ceux qui travaillent aux points d’intervention. En tenant compte de ces objectifs, nous vous demandons :

  • de miser sur ce que les infirmières et infirmiers doivent savoir;
  • d’organiser vos idées autour d’une prémisse centrale;
  • d’écrire dans un langage simple, clair et concis;
  • de privilégier la voix active;
  • d’éviter le jargon des soins infirmiers et les longues citations.

Les idées habilement exprimées comptent plus qu’une grammaire parfaite ou un nombre de mots précis. Si votre manuscrit est accepté en vue de sa publication, il sera révisé pour en accroître la clarté et la conformité selon le style d’infirmière canadienne, tout en respectant votre voix.

Nous n’acceptons pas ceci : les textes déjà publiés (imprimés ou en ligne); les manuscrits soumis à d’autres publications; les dissertations, les examen de la documentation, les critiques littéraires, les poèmes, les articles nécrologiques; le contenu parrainé; les billets de blogueur ou les articles de recherches aux fins d’évaluation par des pairs. Les soumissions provenant d’auteurs qui ne sont pas des membres du personnel infirmier ou des étudiants en soins infirmiers seront normalement refusées.

Ce que nous recherchons

Nous invitons les infirmières et infirmiers canadiens, les étudiants en soins infirmiers et le personnel infirmier retraité à soumettre des articles dans les six catégories énumérées ci-après. Si vous ignorez laquelle des catégories vous convient, écrivez-nous à l’adresse redaction@infirmiere-canadienne.com et nous vous aiderons avec plaisir.

Pratique

Analyse

Carrière

Recherche

Profils

Opinion

Références

Les références doivent être complètes et inclure des liens, si possible. Suivez le style de l’APA : système de citation auteur-date dans le texte, et liste des références par ordre alphabétique à la fin du texte, sans notes de bas de page de fin de texte.

Photos et documents complémentaires

Nous vous encourageons à joindre à votre manuscrit des photos numériques haute résolution. Les formats de fichiers acceptables sont les suivants : PDF, GIF, PNG, TIFF et JPG.

Ce que vous devez inclure :

  • informations pour la légende (nom(s) et contexte);
  • références photographiques (nom du ou de la photographe ou de l’organisation);
  • autorisations de toutes les personnes identifiables sur les photos soumises.

La revue infirmière canadienne se réserve le droit de prendre la décision finale pour toute photo ou légende.

Concernant les autres documents complémentaires (graphiques, fichiers audio, vidéo), veuillez nous écrire à l’adresse redaction@infirmiere-canadienne.com.

Figures

Lorsque vous incluez des figures, fournissez les fichiers sources de façon à ce que nous puissions modifier la langue et apporter d’autres modifications pour assurer l’uniformité de la marque d’infirmière canadienne.

Un fichier source est le document original dans lequel une figure a été créée. C’est ce qu’on entend également par illustration en mode vectoriel. Les graphiques, les tableaux, les diagrammes, etc. devraient être soumis comme des fichiers EPS et PDF ou en PowerPoint.

Lorsque des figures sont utilisées dans un manuscrit, un aperçu devrait être inséré et étiqueté de façon appropriée dans le document Word soumis.

Envoyez votre manuscrit

Veuillez faire parvenir votre manuscrit en pièce jointe (Word) à redaction@infirmiere-canadienne.com, accompagné des photos en pièces jointes (et non insérées dans le document).

Dans votre courriel, veuillez indiquer :

  • les noms et prénoms des auteurs
  • un numéro de téléphone pendant la journée
  • les titres de compétence, poste et lieu de travail des auteurs
  • la catégorie d’articles à laquelle est destinée la soumission

Après…

Nous accuserons réception de votre envoi dans un délai d’une semaine. Après une première évaluation par un membre du comité consultatif de rédaction, nous accepterons ou refuserons votre manuscrit, nous vous demanderons de le modifier ou le soumettrons pour évaluation externe. Nous faisons de notre mieux pour aviser les auteurs de notre décision dans un délai de huit semaines.

Si votre manuscrit est accepté, nous le réviserons, en vous donnant la possibilité de consulter les modifications apportées et de nous donner votre avis, et le traduirons. La revue infirmière canadienne se réserve le droit de prendre les décisions finales concernant les modifications apportées au texte. Avant de le publier, nous vous demanderons de remplir un formulaire de déclaration de statut d’auteur et de consentir au transfert du droit d’auteur à l’Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada.

Autres façons de contribuer

Un sujet à proposer?

Si vous devez relever un défi au travail ou vous souhaitez attirer l’attention de vos collègues sur un problème lié à la pratique ou une réussite, écrivez-nous. Nous pourrions confier votre idée à un rédacteur. Parlez-nous aussi des rôles et des cadres de pratique qui sortent de l’ordinaire dans la profession infirmière, cela nous intéresse.

Votre opinion

Si vous avez des commentaires pour l’équipe de rédaction, envoyez un courriel à redaction@infirmiere-canadienne.com.

Write for Us

Write for Us

The Canadian Nurse online journal invites submissions that inform and inspire nurses. Our content includes articles about successes and best practices in the workplace as well as in-depth analyses, opinion pieces, profiles, research summaries, and advice and insights from experts. We welcome manuscripts related to any of the five domains of nursing: clinical practice, education, policy, research and administration.


Style

Submissions that have a distinct point of view work best for our broad-based audience. Overall, your work should seek to inform, inspire and support nurses in their practice, particularly those working at point of care. With these goals in mind, we ask that you:

  • focus on what nurses need to know
  • organize your ideas around a central premise
  • use plain, clear, concise language
  • emphasize the active voice
  • avoid nursing jargon and lengthy quotations.

Having an idea that is well expressed is more important than perfect grammar or precise word count. If your manuscript is accepted for publication, it will be edited for clarity and consistency with Canadian Nurse style while keeping your original voice.

We do not accept any of the following: previously published material (print or online); manuscripts under consideration by other publications; school term papers; literature reviews; book reviews; poems; obituaries; sponsored content; guest posts; and research papers for peer review. Submissions from authors who are not nurses or nursing students are normally not accepted.


What we’re looking for

We invite submissions from Canadian nurses, nursing students and retired nurses in the six categories listed below. If you’re not sure which category is right for you, email us at editor@canadian-nurse.com. We’ll be happy to help.

Practice articles focus on point-of-care solutions that nurses and managers can use in their day-to-day work. Practice articles can, for example, describe the development and implementation of a new program, project, or technology. Articles in this category can examine how research led to better patient outcomes, brought economic value to your organization or influenced your practice. Practice articles can also be a forum where you can share your story of successful change management by describing the problem you faced and how you overcame it.

Submissions in this category should include background information, a detailed description of how the innovation affected nursing practice, and a summary of results that were achieved.

Criteria

  • up to three authors or contributors
  • 1,500 words maximum (not including references)
  • identify three takeaway messages for readers, using bullet points (optional)
  • references: if used, include no more than three

Analysis articles keep readers up-to-date on current and emerging issues critical to Canadian nursing practice. They can be used to help readers further their understanding of key policy, practice, education or workplace issues. For example, articles in this category could examine a project, program or procedure in depth (e.g., a clinical how-to, a case study or a way to apply guidelines) or focus on current events or nursing history.

Criteria

  • up to three authors or contributors
  • 1,000-2,000 words maximum (not including references)
  • identify three takeaway messages for readers, using bullet points (optional)
  • references: if used, include no more than 10

Career articles offer advice on career planning and development. They can focus on a wide range of topics, including educational preparation, career planning and mentoring.

Criteria

  • single contributor
  • first-person perspective
  • conversational style
  • 500-1,500 words maximum
  • no references

Articles in this category support nurses by offering reports on recent research and how they can be applied in practice. Articles can also describe the basics of how to interpret research terminology and methods.

Criteria

  • single contributor
  • first-person perspective
  • conversational style
  • 500-1,500 words maximum
  • no references

Profile articles focus on the stories of Canadian nurses who are making important contributions to their communities and to the profession.

You can nominate Canadian nurses that you think we should profile. We’re looking for those who have advanced the profession, made a difference in patients’ lives or in the community, inspired other nurses or faced challenges that helped them grow. Send us the nurse’s name and contact information, along with a brief explanation of why you think this person deserves to be a nurse to know.

Profile articles are typically written by freelance reporters hired by Canadian Nurse, but are occasionally written by nurses or other writers.

Opinion articles offer perspectives and insights into critical nursing issues. Articles in this category can range from 500-1,500 words, depending on your objective. Shorter lengths work best for authors who want to sound off on an important issue and stimulate discussion among their colleagues. Longer opinion articles are ideal for those who want to share a personal or professional experience, with a focus on the insights you gained.

Criteria

  • single contributor
  • first-person perspective
  • conversational style
  • 500-1,500 words maximum
  • no references

References

References must be complete and include links, if available. Follow APA style: an author-date system for in-text citations, an alphabetical reference list at the end and no endnotes or footnotes.


Photos and supplementary materials

We encourage you to submit high-resolution digital photos to accompany your manuscript. Acceptable file formats: PDF, GIF, PNG, TIFF and JPG.

What to include:

  • caption information (name(s) and context)
  • photo credits (name of photographer or company)
  • releases obtained from all identifiable persons in your photos

Canadian Nurse reserves the right to make the final decision on all images and caption information.

For other materials (e.g., graphics, audio, video), please email us at editor@canadian-nurse.com.


Figures

When including figures, provide the source files so we can edit the language and make other modifications to ensure Canadian Nurse brand consistency.

A source file is the original, editable document in which a figure was created. It’s also known as vector-based artwork. Graphs, charts, plots, diagrams, etc., should be submitted as EPS, PDF or PowerPoint files.

When figures are used within a manuscript, a preview should be inserted and properly labelled within the submitted Word document.


Sending your manuscript

Submit your manuscript as a Word attachment to editor@canadian-nurse.com. Send any photos as attachments, i.e., not embedded in the manuscript.

Include the following in the body of your email:

  • author first and last names
  • daytime phone number
  • author credentials, job title and place of employment
  • article category the submission is meant for

After you submit

We will acknowledge receipt of your submission within a week. After an assessment by a member of the editorial advisory board, we will accept or reject the manuscript, request revisions or send it for external review. We do our best to let authors know that decision within eight weeks.

If accepted, your manuscript will go through editing, during which you’ll get the chance to review and respond, and translation. Canadian Nurse reserves the right to make final decisions on text changes. Before we publish, we’ll ask you to complete a declaration of authorship form and agree to transfer copyright to the Canadian Nurses Association.


Other ways for you to contribute

Suggest a story idea

If you’re dealing with a workplace challenge or know of a practice problem or success story your colleagues should be made aware of, let us know. We may be able to assign a writer to pursue the topic. We’re also interested in hearing about nursing roles and practice settings that are unique in some way.

Provide feedback

If you have feedback for the editorial team, email us at editor@canadian-nurse.com.